"You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me."

-C.S. Lewis

What we read has such an impact on us, and I am always on the lookout for something that will inspire me to be a better person. Here is a sampling of books that have been in the teetering stack sitting on top of what is rumored to be my bedside table.

Monday, May 13, 2013

Intentional Parenting, by Sissy Goff, David Thomas, and Melissa Trevathan

Intentional Parenting is by far one of the best parenting books that I have read.  And it's no wonder, since the authors have vast experience at a family counseling center.  So, not only have they been to the circus, they've been the lion tamers as well - so to speak.

In all seriousness, though, this book really does have some amazing ideas on how to approach this journey we call parenting.  Each chapter discusses how to put real thought into parenting.  
Subjects include consistency, playfulness, spirituality, and patience, and hope.  Key concepts that are necessary for parenting with purpose are examined in detail, with real-life anecdotes and ideas for how to improve on each area. 

I loved that age-appropriate ideas are provided throughout the book.  Clearly, a teen requires a different style than a toddler does, and this book recognizes that.  I also loved the questions posed to the reader.  This book really encourages the reader to put thought into his or her parenting style - it's parenting with purpose!  And no matter how you feel you're doing as a parent, this book is going to provide you with tools that you will be able to use for the benefit of your whole family.  And for fans of Love and Logic, the ideas in this book can be used with that program.

As a teacher and a mother, I highly recommend this book to any parent or soon-to-be-parent. 

Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Five out of Five Stars